Wednesday, July 30, 2014

The Trap (The Hunt #3) by Andrew Fukuda


From author Andrew Fukuda comes The Trap, the explosive finale to The Hunt trilogy—perfect for fans of The Hunger Games!

After barely escaping the Mission alive, Gene and Sissy face an impossible task: staying alive long enough to stop an entire world bent on their destruction. Bound on a train heading into the unknown with the surviving Mission girls, Gene, Sissy, David, and Epap must stick together and use everything they have to protect each other and their only hope: the cure that will turn the blood-thirsty creatures around them into humans again. Now that they know how to reverse the virus, Gene and Sissy have one final chance to save those they love and create a better life for themselves. But as they struggle to get there, Gene's mission sets him on a crash course with Ashley June, his first love . . . and his deadliest enemy.
Hardcover, 320 pages  Published November 5th 2013 by St. Martin's Griffin 
 
I loved this entire series, as a huge fan of vampires in general the twist to how these creatures came to life and took over the land was a great addition to the vampire reading world. I would absolutely love if this series became a movie or two, fantastically fast paced, dangerous and thought provoking. 

Everything so far was building up to this last book in the trilogy. And everything wraps up with an all out infested blood fest and revelations. I was even caught off guard a little with the ending and still having to ponder how the story left off. 

Ashley June was fantastic in the climax to the story. Her character being one of my favorites overall. The vampires are manipulative, hunt by the thousands (millions) and blood thirsty. The majority of them on a mindless feeding hunt. Driven solely on the need to feed. They also have a very intelligent, driven hierarchy striving to survive in a world diminished of food.

I really loved this series and highly recommend it. Amazing characters and fast paced with a domino effect of destruction throughout. It also ended with an unpredictable ending for me that I still find myself thinking about.

                                         Giveway
I was sent an additional copy for giveaway by the publisher (who also sent me a review copy) and I want to give it to you! 
1 Hardcover copy of The Trap by Andrew Fukuda
US addresses only
Must be 13 or older to enter. 
Just enter a comment below with a form of contact to reach you if you win (twitter, facebook, email, link to your blog etc) anything will do. 
You have until  Midnight on August 13th to enter.

Thank you for stopping by today and happy reading! 
Krista

Sunday, July 27, 2014

The Wild Queen: The Days and Nights of Mary Queen of Scots (Young Royals #7)

by

Mary Stuart was just five years old when she was sent to France to be raised alongside her future husband. But when the frail young king dies, eighteen-year-old Mary is stripped of her title as Queen of France and set adrift in the harsh world, alone. Determined to reign over what is rightfully hers, Mary returns to Scotland. Hopingthat a husband will help her secure the coveted English throne, she marries again, but the love and security she longs for elude her. Instead, the fiery young queen finds herself embroiled in a murder scandal that could cost her the crown. And her attempts to bargain with her formidable “sister queen,” Elizabeth I of England, could cost her her very life.
Hardcover, 420 pages  Published June 19th 2012 by Harcourt Children's Books
ISBN  0152061886 (ISBN13: 9780152061883
 

When I was sent a copy of this book for review by the publisher I had not heard of this series before and was very excited to read it. I was mesmerized by the cover and the title. When I did jump into it I did have my hopes up for a wild adventure, causing uproar, fun antics. 

This story does have a lot of factual history and at times there is uproar and political escapades. It was not as rambunctious as I suppose I was hoping for, but it is very clear that a lot of research went into the story and very well written. 

The book covers her whole life from birth to death. It gives an inside look to the opinions of the times and how the royalty looked upon what is best for the people and their role, not only as the decision makers but their own lives as well. 

I admit that I did not know hardly anything about Mary Stuart before picking up the book. And it was a fun way to learn more about her and the time she lived. I did look into the other books of the Young Royals series and found other titles that I find appealing and looking forward to reading. 

Overall the story is enjoyable, a historical young adult read that is very well written and an entertaining way of learning.

Saturday, July 26, 2014

The Twice Lost (Lost Voices #3) by Sarah Porter



The Twice Lost (Lost Voices #3)

by Sarah Porter  
Mermaids have been sinking ships and drowning humans for centuries, and now the government is determined to put an end to the mermaid problem—by slaughtering all of them. Luce, a mermaid with exceptionally threatening abilities, becomes their number-one target, hunted as she flees down the coast toward San Francisco.

There she finds hundreds of mermaids living in exile under the docks of the bay. These are the Twice Lost: once-human girls lost first when a trauma turned them into mermaids, and lost a second time when they broke mermaid law and were rejected by their tribes. Luce is stunned when they elect her as their leader. But she won’t be their queen. She’ll be their general. And they will become the Twice Lost Army—because this is war


Characters: This story jumps around from several characters perspectives. Our main focus is still on Luce, as the general who is taking a stance to help prevent any further mermaid deaths. We get the side of the American Government. A secret weapon the government is holding hostage. And the humans that have had connections with the mermaids and are on their side.
Plot: As Luce travels south after witnessing the loss of her old Tribe, she has found other mermaids and humans along the way. Breaking the code of the Timahk more than once, she is now focusing on finding her long lost friend Nausicaa and warning the mermaids of the government killings. When she reaches San Francisco however, she comes across hundreds of misplaced mermaids and decides this is the spot where she will stop and fight.

Originality: This trilogy includes all female mermaids. There is very little thought given to any mythological ties to the current day groups. They do age slower than humans and have the ability to sing to the water to cause magical effects. Some dangerous enough to sink ships. The ranking of the mermaids (Queen's) are chosen by how powerful they can sing (manipulate the water). 
 
Writing: The pacing of the story is pretty slow. The building up and causes of war in the third book in particular involves a lot of different characters. Each characters story having to evolve, and grow until the point that the war must come to a head and get resolved. As the mermaids are aiming for a peaceful ending there is a lot of restraint on their parts and the humans show to be the more evil of the two sides. The villain of this story is truly horrible, abusive and manipulative person overstepping his boundaries. 
 
As this is the final book in the trilogy. I was expecting everything to come to a very fast paced ending. The writing is a bit slower paced that I anticipated with the building up of several characters/groups and their growth throughout the story going for or against the mermaids in their struggles. But even with a lot of down time, this is a series that got me thinking, long after I finished the books the story still sticks with me.